Cell culture-conditioned medium-derived extracellular vesicles (CCM-EVs)

To maximize the reliability and reproducibility of CCM-EV research, transparent reporting is needed to produce and characterize CCM-EVs. Our goals are to increase awareness and promote reproducibility in EV research when CCM is the starting material. In this task force, we aim to identify relevant cell culturing parameters, describe their effects based on current knowledge, recommend reporting parameters, and identify outstanding questions.

Working Groups

  1. Considerations for minimal criteria required for reporting cell culturing parameters
  2. Parasite cell culturing and their effects on EV release
  3. High throughput characterization

Chair Contact Info


  • Activity 1: Initially, we provided a list of key cell culturing parameters that may affect EV release, biochemical composition, or therapeutic potency
  • Activity 2: The manuscript for “Cell culture-conditioned medium-derived extracellular vesicles: recommendations for reporting of cell culture and collection parameters” has been finalized
  • Activity 3: The manuscript for “Parasite cell culture-conditioned medium-derived extracellular vesicles” has been provided


  • Activity 1: ISEV-Education day (May 2021) 
  • Activity 2: ASBMB meeting (July 2021) 
  • Activity 3: Task Force representation at EVClub (March 30, 2022)  


Working Group 1: Ana Claudia Torrecilhas | Bernd Giebel | Carolina Soekmadji | Carlos Salomon | Clotilde Théry | Dandan Zhu | Esther Nolte-'t Hoen | Faisal Alibhai | Faezeh Shekari | Francesca Perut | Gabriella Pocsfalvi | Ganesh Vilas Shelke | Ghasem Hosseini Salekdeh | Hossein Baharvand | Inge Nelissen | Kenneth Witwer | Lorena Martin-Jaula | Lorraine O'Driscoll | Mario Gimona | Owen Davies | Rienk Nieuwland | Simon Staubach | Stefania Bruno | Stefano Pluchino | Suresh Mathivanan | Tobias Tertel | Verena Börger
Working Group 2: Iris Aparici Herraiz | Carmen Becerra | Nuria Cortes-Serra | Hernando Del Portillo | Melisa Gualdron-Lopez | Antonio Marcilla | Christian M. Sánchez-López | Martin Olivier | Sima Raafati | Neta Regev-Rudzki | Mehrdad Shokouhy | Patricia Xander | Christopher Fernandez Prada
Working Group 3: Ghasem Hosseini Salekdeh | Suresh Mathiavan