Blood Task Force

This task force exists to improve the reproducibility of EV measurement results in plasma and serum.

Working Groups

  1. Considerations towards a roadmap for collection, handling and storage of blood extracellular vesicles
  2. Quality controls of plasma and serum 
  3. Quality controls of extracellular vesicles isolated from plasma or serum
  4. Anticoagulants
  5. Blood stabilization tubes
  6. Reference plasma samples 

Chair Contact Info

Rienk Nieuwland 


  • Considerations towards a roadmap for collection, handling and storage of blood extracellular vesicles JEV 2019; The manuscript was based on results from a survey distributed amongst Blood EV task force members.
  • Survey amongst (general) ISEV members
  • Survey amongst ISEV Blood EV TF members
  • Based on results from surveys (i.e. Activity 1 and Activity 2), and on discussions with Blood EV TF members, a manuscript was prepared by a group of 5-6 members on “Reporting Guidelines to Enhance the Quality and Reproducibility of Blood Extracellular Vesicle Research”: A Position Paper”
  • Several Blood EV TF members involved in organizing the Helsinki Blood EV Workshop (Helsinki, Finland; 2022), ISTH endorsed (showing the interest of a more clinical scientific society on this topic) 


  • Manuscript about reporting guidelines to be distributed amongst members of Blood EV TF for final round of input
  • Initially, we identified several caveats, including the lack of a roadmap to gain a comprehensive overview of expected challenges (2019), the lack of robust quality controls to improve blood-derived starting material for EV isolation and characterization (hope to publish this early 2023), and now we have a few of the originally identified topics left (i) Anticoagulants, (ii) Blood stabilization tubes, and (iii) Reference plasma samples. Propose to have a discussion at ISEV 2023 amongst the Blood EV TF members which topics we should focus on next.  


Federica Anastasi | Eric Boilard | Edit Buzas | Lesley Cheng | Aled Clayton | Katharina Clemm von Hohenberg | Juan M. Falcon-Perez | Dakota Gustafson | Alice Gualerzi | An Hendrix | Andrew Hoffmann | Annie Reale | Jennifer Jones | Lucia Languino | Cecilia Lässer | Charlotte Lawson | Metka Lenassi | Kendra Maass | Irina Nazarenko | Rienk Nieuwland | Lorraine O'Driscoll | Ryan Pink | Pia R. Siljander | Carolina Soekmadji | Marca Wauben | Joshua A. Welsh | Kenneth Witwer | Lei Zheng