A first-of-its-kind symposium organized by ISEV Special Interest Group “EViNS”

 The ISEV symposium “Extracellular Vesicles in Nervous Systems” aims to discuss key challenges in:

  • understanding the biogenesis, secretion, and roles of extracellular vesicles (EVs) in the nervous system
  • how to reliably develop EV-based biomarkers for research on neurological disorders and neurodegenerative diseases
  • understanding the role of EVs in communication between the brain and the periphery
  • current state of EVs as therapeutics for nervous systems diseases
  • emerging technologies in the nervous system field

Given the specific structure and function of neuronal circuits, this symposium will also include talks and posters that cover striking advances on neurobiology and neurotransmission, and that are important for the study of EVs in the context of nervous systems. 

The in-person meeting will be held in Rome (Italy) from 6 to 8 December 2023, at the beautiful venue A.ROMA conference center. The meeting will start on Wednesday 6 December at 8:00am and will finish on Friday 8 December at 2:00pm. The meeting will feature talks by leading experts in the field, short talks selected from abstracts, poster sessions and panel discussions. There will also be ample time in the program for networking. The preliminary program will be available soon. 


Check out our latest program here. We will continue to update this.

Keynote Speakers

Illana Gozes, Tel Aviv, Israel
Andy Hill, La Trobe University, Australia
Frank Kirchhoff, Ulm University Medical Center ,Germany


Additional Speakers:
Tsuneya Ikezu, Mayo Clinic Florida, USA
Eva-Maria Krämer-Albers, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany
Marzia Malcangio, King's College London, United Kingdom
Stefan Momma, Goethe-Universitat Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Stefano Plucino, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Juan Polanco, University of Queensland, Australia
Ursula Sandau, Oregon Health and Science University, USA
Anja Schneider, German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases, Germany
Zu-Hang Sheng, National Institutes of Health, USA
Jason Shepherd, University of Utah, USA
Roosmarijn Vandenbroucke, Vlaams Institut voor Biotechnoligie, Belgium
Claudia Verderio, Universita Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Yongjie Yang, Tufts University School of Medicine, USA


Registration is now open! Registration covers: meeting fee, buffet lunches and coffee breaks.

Online registration is open until 30 November. If you wish to register after this deadline, you can register onsite. 

Register here.

Registration rates below:

 If you need a visa letter to attend this event, please reach out to [email protected].



This meeting will feature state-of-the-art presentations, interactive panel discussions and poster presentations. The program will be build from abstracts, so we encourage the registrants to submit their latest work. Abstracts will be reviewed by an expert panel and selected for oral or poster presentation.

Poster Size Requirements

The recommended size of your poster is 90x120cm. The posters will hang vertically. 

Hotel Information:
The conference will take place at the A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel. To receive ISEV's special room rate of 150 Euro for 1 person and 180 Euro 2 people, please book by 17 November. Book your room here

Breakfast is included in the hotel rate. The breakfast time is from 6:30am until 10am and is at the Sapori dal Mondo on floor -1. 

Please note that you need to select "1. Adults and Children" on the top left corner of the reservation page in order to choose the 1-person rate. If you do not choose, it will automatically give you the 2-person rate. 

Parking at the venue is free. There is no valet parking. 


Interested in becoming a sponsor for the 1st Symposium on EVs in Nervous Systems? Check out our sponsorship prospectus that details our sponsorship opportunities 
and a link to register your company online for the 1st Symposium on EVs in Nervous Systems. 

International Organizing Committee: 

  • Christian Neri (SIG EViNS Chair, IOC Co-chair) – Sorbonne Université and CNRS, France
  • Julie Saugstad (IOC Co-chair) – Oregon Health & Science University, USA
  • Metka Lenassi – University in Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Kenneth W Witwer – Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • Eva-Maria Albers (SIG EViNS Co-chair) – University of Mainz, Germany
  • Tsuneya Ikezu (SIG EViNS Co-chair) – Mayo Clinic Florida, USA
  • Andy Hill (SIG EViNS Co-chair) – Victoria University, Australia
  • Claudia Verderio – CNR Institute of Neuroscience, Italy
  • Jason Howitt – Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Yongjie Yang – Tufts University, USA